The GSN 2015 Digital Yearbook of Awards


Click Here

January 2016 Digital Edition


Click Here

December 2015/January 2016 Digital Edition


Click Here

Digital Version of November/December 2015 Print Edition


Click Here

October/November 2015 Digital Edition


Click Here

Digital Version of July/August 2015 
Print Edition

GSN July/Aug Print Edition

Click Here

June/July 2015 Digital Edition

Click Here

Market Sectors

Technology Sectors

New FEMA national advisory council members appointed

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Administrator Craig Fugate has appointed 12 new members and reappointed two current members to FEMA’s National Advisory Council (NAC).

The NAC is an advisory committee established by federal law to ensure ongoing coordination of federal emergency management activities. Members represent a wide array of backgrounds and communities involved or affected by the emergency management profession. The NAC consists of up to 35 members.

“FEMA is just one part of our nation’s emergency management team,” FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate said. “The National Advisory Council serves a vital role in guiding our plans and strategies by ensuring we remain informed by diverse viewpoints and experiences from every sector of society. I value the expertise and input of each of these members, and appreciate their dedication and commitment to ensuring effective emergency management.”

The NAC provides recommendations to the FEMA Administrator on a variety of issues within emergency management. For example, the NAC recently made recommendations regarding regional response and recovery capabilities as well as regarding mutual aid agreements among different units of government.

FEMA received over 200 applications for the open positions. The review process included an interagency membership recommendation panel of senior government officials. Most appointments are for three-year terms.

The twelve new NAC members include Samantha Phillips, director of Emergency Management, City of Philadelphia, W. Scott Field, director, Denver Mayor’s Office of Emergency Management and Homeland Security Standards Setting and Accrediting, Fritz Wilson, executive director, Southern Baptist Disaster Relief, Gerald Parker, Jr., vice president of Public Health Preparedness and Response, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Christopher Littlewood, project coordinator, Center for Public Safety Innovation, St. Petersburg College, and Jeffrey Hansen, emergency manager, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma.

The new NAC members also included James Akerelrea, tribal council member, Scammon Bay Traditional Council, Gerard Dio, fire chief, City of Worcester, Christopher Smith, homeland security advisor to the Governor and Emergency Management Director, Daniel Zarrilli, director of resiliency and acting director for long-term planning and sustainability, Office of the Mayor, City of New York, Jeanne-Aimee De Marrais, senior director for U.S. Emergencies, Save the Children, and Meloyde Batten-Mickens, executive director of, Facilities, Gallaudet University.

The two reappointed members include Lee Feldman, city manager, City of Fort Lauderdale and Felix (Phil) Zarlengo, chairman, AARP board of directors.